Every Day (Every Day #1) – David Levithan

every day

Title: Every Day
Author: David Levithan
Publisher: Ember
Series: Series
Year Published: 2013
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Fantasy
Pages: 324
Rating: ♔♔♔♔

Goodreads’ Description

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.
There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

My Thought

“If there were no one else involved, it would be an easy choice. But isn’t that always the case? And there’s always someone else involved.”

Bear with me, when I get too excited for a novel my review tends to be a bit crazy!

So this is the first work I have read of David Levithan and I am very impressed. When I learnt that he has co-write a novel Will Grayson Will Grayson with John Green, I started to panic. It proved that me and The Fault In Our Stars could never be friend. Though, this was before my best friend persuaded me into reading TFIOS once more. I was surprised I changed my mind. Yes, I gave TFIOS 5 pretty crowns. Anyway, so there I was, thinking that I might end up having the same feeling I had for The Fault In Our Stars, which was boredom. But I didn’t. Instead, this book brought me into a new level of reading which consists of all subjects I have seen an author could approach in his/her novel – humanity, equality, sexuality, religion, depression and LOVE!

The originality of the novel attracted me so much that I CANNOT NOT read this breathtaking novel. (Sorry, I’ve to sort of explain the novel a little.) I never thought I did come across a novel where the protagonist and in this case, A, having to wake up in a different body every day. Though he only possesses (I really don’t want to use this word…) bodies that are the same age as his – 16. Today he might be your best friend, Kelly. Tomorrow he might be you. Throughout A’s life, he has always follow his guidelines on how to live his life.

Never get attached.

Avoid being noticed.

Do not interfere.

Though when A met Rhiannon, he let his walls tumbled down just for a day. And for that one whole day he enjoys his time spent with Rhiannon. But for A, his life with Rhiannon would only last for 1,036,800 seconds. This is where I feel sympathy towards A, because I could imagine how lonely and stranded he would be, having to ‘borrows’ someone else’s life for a day in order to survive. I did be trying to kill myself in order to end this miserable life. But he didn’t and I give him credits for that.

shia

QUOTES!

Oh, where do I begin? There are so many amazing quotes in this novel that I just want to decorate the book and mark it as my own! Yes, I loaned it from the library. It’s like Levithan knows what I am thinking. Some reviewers have claimed that they don’t like it when the protagonist (A) sounds like a middle age man speaking when he/she is just a teen. But I LOVED it! I absolutely fall in love with it! I am 16, but sometimes I think so philosophically that I scared myself. Though due to English as my third language, I have many words in my mind that I could not express. I want my thoughts to be discovered, but I could only keep it to myself as I don’t know how to express them. But Levithan has done a well-above excellent job conveying those precious messages across the subjects he has covered in Every Day. Thank you so much!

10405624

Here is one quote I adore very much as I find it very true!

If there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s this: We all want everything to be okay. We don’t even wish so much for fantastic or marvelous or outstanding. We will happily settle for okay, because most of the time, okay is enough.”

25

There are so many things I want to say but I don’t want to babble my thoughts out loud as they still need to settle down.

Lastly, I want to approach Rhiannon and A’s relationship. I didn’t cry when the book ends, which was very strange considers readers that love this book got very emotional and some of them even tear up when they read the ending. Personally, I didn’t find it sad at all as I have never really cared about the relationship between Rhiannon and A in the first place. I have never really cared for Rhiannon as I don’t understand how she could love A. I mean, one second she was still trying to take everything in. The next second, she was telling A that she loves him. It made me wonder, do those three words come out of people’s mouth easier than saying ‘I am sorry’.

Another thing that disappointed me was how Levithan ended it. I guess the author is trying to show human’s nature through what A did in the end. Though I can’t say this disappoint me as I know this is the only way. If A is desperate enough to end his life, he needs a body. But that would be worse than what A did. I really want to mark this as ‘could-have-been-better’ on my Goodreads’ bookshelf but I couldn’t because I know this is the only way out. There is no other way to write a happy ending. There is just simply no other way around it.

And sometimes life decides to challenge you like that.

tumblr_m192jxXjNx1rq78q8o1_500

Leave a Reply

