Matched (Matched #1) – Ally Condie

Matched

Title: Matched
Author: Ally Condie
Publisher: Razorbill
Series: Series
Year Published: 2010
Genre: Romance, Dystopian, Science Fiction
Pages: 366
Rating: ♔♔♔

Goodreads’ Description

On her seventeenth birthday, Cassia meets her match. The Society dictates that he is her perfect partner for life, except he’s not.
In Cassia’s society, Officials decide who people love.
How many children they have.
Where they work.
When they die.
But, as Cassia finds herself falling in love with another boy,
she is determined to make some choices of her own.
And that’s when her whole world
begins to unravel…

*NOTE: this is an old review of mine. But I would love to share my thoughts with you guys.* 😀

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

My Thought

“Ky Markham…”

Oh, where should I even begin?

The feelings I have towards Ky Markham is so great that he is one of the main reasons why I rated Matched 3 stars instead of 2.5. I read novels, but I am not an experience reader. To me, Ky is the guy I will love to fall in love with – the guy where I will daydream about (oh, his dark blue eyes, tanned skin and dark hair) as I scribble his name all over my English book; the guy where I will dare to risk almost anything to be with and the guy where I will love to share my deepest thoughts with. I don’t normally read dystopian books hence Ky is a very unique character to explore. He is always cautious, spirited, gentle, caring, independent, mysterious and romantic!  ♥.♥

8934567

Are most of the male characters like this in the dystopia gene?

I am not sure, but Ky definitely takes a piece of me when… SPOILER ALERT!!!  I was so upset when the Society’s Official took Ky away, my heart was broken. My inside was shattered. In tears. SPOILER OVER! Though what made me love him even more are how strong his survival instinct is and his amazing knowledge – gosh! His poems and the way he thinks make me drools!

Someone please send me a Ky Markham in the mail? 
530158

*Fangirl moment over*

Everything about him intrigues me nonetheless!

I love every character’s psychological development. It was interesting to read how they overcome their obstacles throughout the book, especially when Cassia steps over the boundary and explores the forbidden. It really makes me ponder about choices people make – whether the outcome is positive or negative – will impact on their future.

Regardless, the book cover and the subtitle on the front cover are APPEALING! It was what attracted me to pick up Matched in the first place. Watched by Society. Trapped by Rules. Freed by Love? Doesn’t that just makes you jump up and down in the air? 😀 This motivated me to loan it from the library. Likewise, now that I think about it, the plot of the story and the setting of the novel really do match the book cover and how Condie described Cassia’s society in general.

But then here comes the negatives…

To be honest, the writer’s writing style didn’t tailor to my need. Personally, I would much prefer if the flashbacks were italicized in terms of the font – it would’ve been much easier to read and the chapters would’ve flow so much better. Also, I wasn’t able to relate to Cassia as much as I would’ve liked, as well as the way their society functions. I mean, it’s straight-forward but I wasn’t able to establish any connections with the new society hence I didn’t enjoy it as much as some others did.

0124

However, there were moments in the book where it did made my heart raced and shattered into little pieces. Alright, I don’t want to talk about it too much, otherwise I’ll spoil it. If you want to read this, I would strongly recommend you to loan it from a library or a friend before you spend your precious money on this novel.

Final Words: Overall, the book was alright but it definitely could have been better. I probably won’t read the next book, Reached. I might read it if one day I stumbled across it. But I am impressed with the covers of the trilogies – very predictable of the ending though.

Have you read this book? If so what did you think about it? Most importantly, WHO DO YOU SUPPORT?! 😛 Please tell me is Ky Markham.

2 thoughts on “Matched (Matched #1) – Ally Condie

  1. You certainly have my curious about this Ky of yours haha. Also, excellent use of your bank of 1000+ gifs ;)! Also, I thought you were going to do your homework? Haha!

    • From all the reviews I’ve read from you, I’m not sure if you will like Matched. But be sure to give it a try, because Ky is…*cough cough* a perfectly flawed guy whom I would love to become friends with. Though you might like Xander instead. 😦 Thank you! The last gift was the hardest to choose because as I scroll through the 1000+ gifs…well it doesn’t move so I’ve to spend time clicking on them.

      P.S. I’ll start my HW now 😛 It’s like 9.06pm haha. xD

Leave a Reply

