Top Ten Tuesday #1 – Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

Capture

The Broke & The Bookish created this bookish meme (Top Ten Tuesday), in which they feature a different topic every week. 

Hello Tuesday!

This is my first time participating in the Top Ten Tuesday meme. This week, the girls have challenged the bookish blogosphere to come up with a list of Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read. I am ecstatic to start this feature with such a fun topic so let’s get on to it! 😀

1. Harry Potter & the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

harry potter and the philosopher's stone

I hear you asked: WHY HAVEN’T YOU READ IT???

I know, I know….But can you not ask me such a difficult question? 😛 I do have a copy of this novel sitting on my TBR shelf, collecting dusts. I have no idea why I haven’t started it yet either. It is indeed an extremely hyped novel, which *cough cough* has been going on since the year I was born. In fact, this book is older than me. It was born in 26th June 1997, and my birthday is in November. :O I pinky promise I’ll read it sometime in the future, just not now.

A novel with over 3 million ratings on Goodreads is such a rare thing, which is evident of how influential this novel is. But what if I don’t like it? I’m scared. I desperately want to be part of the Harry Potter fandom because every creative book-related merchandise e.g. lilytales from Etsy have beautiful handmade bookmarks made especially for this fandom. I don’t want to not like it and my expectation of a novel has never been that high before.

Do you see my dilemma here?

2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905

I CAN’T WAIT TO DIVE INTO THIS ONE! This novel has been on my TBR for far too long. I really need to catch up on all those amazing releases! One of them is definitely this. Please get onto to this if you haven’t already. (Not that I can speak.)

3. An Ember In the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

an-ember-in-the-ashes-by-sabaa-tahir

I NEED THIS BOOK IMMENSELY! Unfortunately, I’m broke at the moment. My local bookstore and my library hasn’t put this novel on their system yet so all I can do now is wait. Gosh, how pretty is this book cover? I can hear it saying, “come and get me!”

4. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski 

b8fd457b921f85e7b3379b5e390885da

I saw it $5 at my local bookstore! It’s an extremely rare circumstance, because my local bookstore takes in leftover novels from publishers so I was like OH MY GOSH! There was only the one there, and I was thinking how that book needs to belong to me. But guess what? I didn’t take it home because I am literally that poor.

5. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass

16096824

Seriously, look at that sassiness that’s showing on the cover! 😀 I found this novel while I was scrolling through my Bookstagram news feed. All the sudden everyone has this novel they’re featuring, so it got me very curious. I have one sitting on my bookshelf at the moment, showing off. I haven’t read any novel from Sarah J. Mass, and everyone says she is an amazing author as well as a person.

6. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass

13519397

Guys, can you feel the vibe? Yes, that so-cool-kickass vibe! 😀 I seriously need to stop reading too many reviews and watching too many booktubes on every novel I’m excited for. Yes, the hype on this one is amazing and every friend of mine on Goodreads have praised this novel. I have it also sitting on my bookshelf and on my Rapunzel (my Kindle) for a while now. I will try to get onto it ASAP.

7. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

17675462

I have long heard of Maggie Stiefvater’s powerful writing! The only novels I have read from her are the first two novels from the Books of Faerie series. I haven’t been able to get on hand on this. But when I do, I will make sure I write a review for this. Because *phew* the hype that has been around the blogosphere and booktubes are unbelievably high!

8. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

13138635

The hype of this novel is ASTOUNDING! I happen to see this on my library’s shelf when I was on a trip to loan out some more books. 😀 But I didn’t pick this one up. The universe and out of space setting isn’t really my kind of thing. (Though I do have exceptions!) I don’t think I’m going to read it either.

9. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

15749186

I have heard raving reviews of this novel. The cover is ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS! I just really need to get my hand on one somehow before this Christmas comes around! Can’t wait to read it!

10. Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens 

15726915

I have been watching a lot of booktubes lately because it’s holiday and I have nothing better to do than to watch all my favourite booktubers talking about our passion – books. Jesse the Reader specifically mentions this novel, at first I didn’t think too much of it. But soon, all booktubers I visited has this as one of their most anticipated reads so I was like okay time to add this to my TBR list. 😀

Dear bookworms,
if you participate in the The Broke & The Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday please leave a link below so I can check it out! 😛

Kristy.

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #1 – Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. AEITA is amazing, as is HP ofc! I did not like Throne of Glass, so I hope you like it more than I did. These Broken Stars is on my TBR as well, I need to support Aussie authors more haha.

    • Yes, I really need to get my hand on this book. It’s been such a hype lately and every booktuber is like reading it. It sucks that we don’t live in America. :/ I feel ashamed, I have no idea that These Broken Stars are by Australian authors. O.o Thanks for letting me know haha xD I suppose I’m just not interested in out of space novel so I didn’t pay much attention to it. 😛

    • I think I will read Harry Potter at the end of this year. I just need to be mentally prepared for this haha. 😛 I know right! They never seem to end. New books release all the time. Oh well, that just means us readers get plenty of choices to choose from. 😛

      Your list reminds me of all those books from other genres that I really need to read. E.g. Gone With The Wind, Cloud Atlas…all those great novels. 😀

  2. You HAVE TO read Harry Potter. Seriously, you haven’t read anything until you read HP. Yay, my birthday is in November too, on the 21st to be exact, only I was born a year earlier. The Winner’s Curse is such an awesome novel as well! It’s so original and unique, also the characters are a 100% relatable and complex. Raven Cycle is definitely THE BEST SERIES EVER, one of them anyway. Everything is perfect in those novels, including MY SHIPS! If the people I want together fail me in the last book I’ll be VERY pissed. Talking about ships, I can wait for the third Starbound novel to be published because I NEED TO SEE ALL THESE LOVELY COUPLES FINALLY GETTING THEIR HAPPILY EVER AFTER.
    I hope you’ll love all these books! :))
    My TTT

    • Hey Veronika 😀 I made a mental note to myself that I’ll attempt to start it at the end of this year. When high school finally finished haha xD Then I can finally joined the awesome fandom! 😀
      YAY! Go Scorpios! ❤ You just made it on the 21st! ^-^ Mine is on the 6th.

      Gosh, all of those novels you speak of sounds very intriguing. I can’t wait to get my hand on them so I can just read them all! 😀 I love it when the characters in the novel are complex and three dimensional. Oh, I hate it when the author doesn’t pair your favourite OTP together. 😦 I don’t know if you have read the Unearthly series, but I was HEARTBROKEN with the ending.

      Like I said, I love your list! ❤.❤

    • Throne of Glass is really hyped, and most of the time I have heard great things about it so I’m looking forward to reading it very soon (hopefully). 😛 As for The Winner’s Curse & ACOTAR, I have very high expectations for both of them, so hopefully they won’t let me down. 😀

      P.S. I cannot emphasis enough that your owls are so cute! ❤.❤ And your blog as well, so pretty!

  3. Besides Harry Potter and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, I haven’t read any of the rest. However, I do highly recommend To All the Boys– I just read it and was so into the story that I ran out and purchased the sequel right away! Happy reading!

    Check out my Top Ten Tuesday!

    • You just put my expectations up a notch. 😛 I hope I don’t die from falling. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before sound very intriguing! 😀 Damn it purse! 😦
      Happy reading to you too! ^-^

      P.S. Sorry for the lengthy post 😛 I really need to learn when to stop haha.

  4. I read and loved all the books on this list! (Clearly you have very good taste, ha ha!) XD I hope you do as well once you read them. Faking Normal seems like an interesting book, added it to my TBR. 🙂 Great list!

    • Wow! That is amazing! ❤ It means you’re one of those that are up to date with your TBR pile! 😀 Trust me, I’ve been aiming to do that since forever. However, new books just keep being published and I just keep adding heaps of “to-read” on Goodreads. 😛 I’m so jealous!

      Faking Normal does sound very intriguing doesn’t it? 🙂 Though I’m slightly weirded out by the cover. 😦 Thanks for reading my list.

      P.S. Analee, you should definitely join in the TTT. I would love to read your post 😀 Though you are participating in Teaser Tuesday, so you probably wouldn’t want to have two. 😛

      • Oh, I most definitely am not! 🙂 My TBR is way out of control and there are still so many hyped and un-hyped books I want to read. I know what you mean, my TBR on Goodreads has gone from something like 200-ish to 800-something, I think… Uh-oh…

        Ha ha true, the cover is… different, to say the least!
        🙂 I do participate in it, and I agree, it’s super fun! Ha ha I didn’t think I would be able to keep up with two memes on the same day, but I’m managing so far with both Teaser Tuesday and TTT. You can check out my latest Top Ten Tuesday post here if you want. ❤

  5. There’s so many great books on this list, I can’t wait for you to get to some of these! And you’re not alone with the unread HP books. I stopped around book 4, when the books are suddenly 200 pages to around 500. That’s where people tell me it gets better, but I’m so nervous. What if I don’t like it?

Leave a Reply

